Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Finding it difficult to sell work

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

dynexclick
25 Feb 2006 - 8:36 AM

Hi everyone,

A work colleague found out i was a budding artist. She asked me to show her some landscapes and was really eager to have some for her new house.

I let the lady borrow a selection of proofs and told her I would charge her 10 per 10 x 8 unframed.

She brought my proofs back saying they where too expensive. This was a woman whos husband is an accountant. 20 mins later she was discussing with another work colleague about her new 1000 widescreen TV.

Has anyone else come accross this where people are initially willing to purchase then back off?

I'de rather not sell my work than have it under valued.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
25 Feb 2006 - 8:36 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ZenTog
ZenTog  127875 forum posts England1 Constructive Critique Points
25 Feb 2006 - 8:46 AM

Yes get this all the time ,even when the pics are of the people involved in sport etc
keep trying somebody will like your work, perhaps you are too cheap, that can often be the case people feel by spending 100s they are getting quality, put price up to 100 per pic and maybe you will sell

Mark_Readman
25 Feb 2006 - 8:47 AM

She may have copied them, ??

keithh
keithh  1022727 forum posts Wallis and Futuna29 Constructive Critique Points
25 Feb 2006 - 8:48 AM

Welcome to the world of retail.

I recently had the opportunity to open a photographic gallery in Leeds in a very upmarket building in the very best area of the city.