Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Finding it difficult to sell work

dynexclick 9 19 1 United Kingdom
25 Feb 2006 8:36AM
Hi everyone,

A work colleague found out i was a budding artist. She asked me to show her some landscapes and was really eager to have some for her new house.

I let the lady borrow a selection of proofs and told her I would charge her 10 per 10 x 8 unframed.

She brought my proofs back saying they where too expensive. This was a woman whos husband is an accountant. 20 mins later she was discussing with another work colleague about her new 1000 widescreen TV.

Has anyone else come accross this where people are initially willing to purchase then back off?

I'de rather not sell my work than have it under valued.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ZenTog 12 7.9k 1 England
25 Feb 2006 8:46AM
Yes get this all the time ,even when the pics are of the people involved in sport etc
keep trying somebody will like your work, perhaps you are too cheap, that can often be the case people feel by spending 100s they are getting quality, put price up to 100 per pic and maybe you will sell
Mark_Readman 9 922
25 Feb 2006 8:47AM
She may have copied them, ??
keithh e2
11 23.4k 33 Wallis And Futuna
25 Feb 2006 8:48AM
Welcome to the world of retail.

I recently had the opportunity to open a photographic gallery in Leeds in a very upmarket building in the very best area of the city.