Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Flash V continuous lighting

Sonyjim 2 2 United Kingdom
13 Oct 2012 4:37PM
I am a ceramic artist and need to make good quality images of my work for gallery selection.
I am looking to buy a small studio lighting set to take images of wall panels and a range of dishes and bowls.
So...... Flash head versus continuous lighting? soft boxes versus light tent?
Before I buy I would welcome any feed back

Thank you
Sonyjim

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

brian1208 e2
11 10.6k 12 United Kingdom
13 Oct 2012 5:00PM
I've been photographing the work of a professional potter friend of mine Rosemarie James and most if not all of her images on her website are mine.

I was using this kit and it works very well but recently I managed to pick up one of these very cheaply and tried it with her last set of pots and it also worked very well. I found that having the constant light source allowed me to work through a large number of pots very quickly and efficiently with a minimum amount of post processing being needed before saving to disc as .jpgs

If you know are only ever going to shoot your ceramics the continuous lighting system may be a good cheap option for you, otherwise the flash-head kits are more versatile
13 Oct 2012 6:06PM
Thank you Brian,
I will look into this option.
Sonyjim
newfocus 8 644 2 United Kingdom
13 Oct 2012 9:04PM