Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Gallery Votes/Comments - Luck or not????

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Marc_Andrews
7 Aug 2007 - 12:00 PM

I sometimes feel that the amount of views & consequently the number of votes & comments you receive from a gallery picture is sometimes down to luck as much as it is quality of work.

If there happens to be a lot of people uploading at the same time, then before you know it your image is 2 or 3 pages back in the gallery before anyones even had a chance to look at it. And I'd be willing to bet that you could adopt the search engine principle and say that very few venture past the third page!

I'm no expert, however I believe some of the images in my folio to be quite good (mind you some are not so as aswell) and I was certain that my most recent image would do well. But it took approximately 45 minutes before it ended up on the third page of the gallery. There aren't many people that'll see it in that time and before you know it it's 10 or 20 pages in and will probably never be looked at again unless someone stumbles upon my portfolio.

Has any one else got any comments on this?

Regards,

Marc

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
7 Aug 2007 - 12:00 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Duncan_E
Duncan_E  7201 forum posts United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
7 Aug 2007 - 12:20 PM