Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Greetings Cards at Craft Fairs

jammy_sam 7 57 United Kingdom
9 Apr 2009 9:04AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting started with craft fairs & want to sell some greetings cards so my display isn't just prints. Only problem i have is i don't have a good enough quality printer to produce the cards myself.

I've found alot of websites selling card blanks so my idea was to buy some A5 blanks and mount a 5"x7" print to the front. Is this a bit cheap & unsaleable? Or will it add dimension to the card?

Just looking for any advice or possibly a good company to produce the cards on a low quantity basis. PS. I've used photobox and wasn't impressed!

Thanks in advance, Sam

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

FatHandedChap 8 1.3k England
9 Apr 2009 9:12AM
I make my cards by sticking photographs on to blanks - I'm sitting here making a batch at the moment!

I print the blanks with a border and title on the front and contact details on the back. Never had any problems selling them from my studio and in several shops in the area.

It's a great way of testing designs as well as you only need make a few at a time. If they don't sell then you aren't left with a load of stock.
csurry 12 9.2k 92
9 Apr 2009 9:20AM
Buy some blanks and then get some A4 pages printed up with multiples of the images per page. Most apertures in cards are only around 6x4cm and thus you can gey 5 or more on a page.

You want to keep the image fairly small to keep your costs down and profits up Smile
9 Apr 2009 9:25AM
Thanks for the quick replies,

FatHandedChap: What size blanks do you buy & what size print do you attach to it?

Cheers, Sam