Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

HDR - Why does it sometimes look like a set from Thunderbirds?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

ketch
ketch e2 Member 7770 forum postsketch vcard Turks and Caicos Islands50 Constructive Critique Points
1 Apr 2008 - 1:44 PM

This is my first posting so please go easy on me - I am also new to digital - well 6 months so I am still finding my way. I am just trying to get my head round the black art of HDR (which seems a bit like old fashioned transparency overlays?) and I think I understand the principle. But why do so many HDR images look at best super-real and at worst plastic (like Thuderbirds!)?

What software would I need to get to create HDR images (my PSP doesn't have this facility I am sure).

Cheers

Rob

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
1 Apr 2008 - 1:44 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Coleslaw
Coleslaw e2 Member 913403 forum postsColeslaw vcard Wales28 Constructive Critique Points
1 Apr 2008 - 1:46 PM

Quote: why do so many HDR images look at best super-real and at worst plastic (like Thuderbirds!)?

I think the answer is in your question.

Badger
Badger  124736 forum posts United Kingdom20 Constructive Critique Points
1 Apr 2008 - 2:00 PM

When a shot has been put through the HDR process, it isn't always finished. Even after being tone-mapped.

You'll still need to tweak it in the normal way, such as a curves layer to get the final product.

It's all about trial and error, finding what works for you. I tend to find that the tone-mapped image is a little flat, although the detail is there in highlights and shadows. using a basic curves layer boosts the contrast again, but doesn't damage the HDR work.