Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Help - stars and coma, can anyone tell me if this is normal?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Aenima
    Aenima  1 England
    14 Jul 2013 - 2:17 AM

Hi,

Recently got a nikon for imaging without a telescope, widefield shots of stars etc. but even choosing a nikon lens that focused infinity ive still noticed problems - especially coma, where the stars look bullet shaped.

As im new to both lenses and widefield imaging i'm hoping someone can tell me how normal this coma is and what it might mean for the lens.

-dsc0020crop.jpg

-dsc0022crop.jpg
    -dsc0018.jpg

These are crops of several seconds exposure @ f100mm lens is: nikon 28-100mm AF nikkor

-dsc0017crop.jpg

Any help greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    14 Jul 2013 - 2:17 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

monstersnowman
    14 Jul 2013 - 5:33 AM

Is it in the viewfinder or image? Obviously slow exposure will show some movement or movement when pressing the shutter button in the image if not using some remote release. Also mirror shake will cause movement on distant subjects. Maybe the sturdiness of the tripod. Cheaper tripods are useless if not using remote or ir/radio triggers.

bigalguitarpicker

I suggest using a much shorter exposure. Shoot lots of frames, then combine them in a programme such as Registax.

Gundog
    Gundog  1624 forum posts Scotland
    14 Jul 2013 - 11:25 AM

At any exposure of more than about 10 seconds, stars will start to "trail". Plus everything Monstersnowman says.

Dave_Canon
    14 Jul 2013 - 11:46 AM