Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Help! Macro focusing

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    bertie1983
    5 May 2012 - 7:58 PM

Hi im pretty new to photography and am keen to get in to macro. I bought a canon 100mm macro lens but am struggling to focus it at 1:1 to get the dramatic bug images I want to take! I have taken some ok shots with the lens but as soon as I try the super close ups the camera just cant lock on to a focus point. I attempted to manually focus too but have never tried this before so was not very successful. Any tips would be very much appreciated!
    Louise

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    5 May 2012 - 7:58 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Niknut
    Niknut e2 Member 4605 forum postsNiknut vcard United Kingdom63 Constructive Critique Points
    5 May 2012 - 8:14 PM

I've been in this dilemma ?......but the method I've settled on is to focus manually, then rock backwards & forwards to pinpoint the exact area I want sharp !

I don't use a tripod, they're too cumbersome for me, but I've found a lightweight monopod makes for a steady camera, with the freedom to move as above !!

I've found that autofocus struggles to lock on the exact point I want it to !......which it won't do if the focal point is off to one side, to make a nice composition......

I'm sure other folks have their own varying methods, you need to persevere & find a working method that you're happy with, given time & plenty of practice........

Take plenty of shots (it's costs nothing, whether you take 2 or 200 !), then sort out the successful shots, & bin the rest !!!!