Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Help a newb choose a camera!

BrizzleJ 1 6
3 Feb 2013 2:27PM
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to photography but am keen on expanding my knowledge and would like it to develop into a bit of a hobby. Up to now I've just had point-and-shoot experience and I'm a bit overawed at the sheer range of cameras out there and am at a bit of a loss as to what to choose. I've tried to narrow my options down but at the moment am torn between a bridge camera (e.g. Panasonic FZ200), an entry level DSLR (e.g. Canon 1100D) or a CSC (e.g. Samsung NX1000).

My budget is around 350 and my quandry lies with picking a camera that will give me greater control over the settings and give some versatility in the types of picture I can shoot, as I'd like to try my hand at a few different things (macro shooting, Bokeh, landscapes and nature photography) but with maintaining the scope for improving my skills and advancing. I'd really like to branch out into DSLR/bridge territory but am a bit put off by the prospect of large bulky cameras that are not easy to lug about (I'd like to be able to take this camera away with me and out and about when I go walking etc). Is this really a problem or would I be better off with a CSC (but will this limit me in what I can learn)? Can anyone offer any advice? It would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks

James

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed 5 4.6k 1 Scotland
3 Feb 2013 2:34PM
Dear James,

You ask the most common question that gets posted here.

....and the most difficult to answer.

A few years ago I would have suggested opting for an entry-level Nikon dSLR.