Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Help Please for a Relative Newcomer (EOS300d)

Panthos 7 3
9 Jun 2007 5:04PM
Hello All

I have just found this site and after browsing some of the topics for a while feel it may be just what I am looking for, I am fairly new to the world of DSLR and photography in general but am a keen learner.

I have a Canon EOS300d and am still trying to get to grips with it, I have been taking photographs in Portrait, Landscape mode etc and have been analysing what settings have been used so I can try them in modes such as AV, TV or M The problem seems to be trying to duplicate what the auto functions are doing, No matter what I Try I cannot seem to duplicate the settings, As an example I took a picture in Portrait mode which came out quite well, ISO 100, 1/60 4.0 AWB and flash, The actual time after pressing the shutter button was very quick indeed, When I tried something similiar in M mode with the same settings the actaul time after pressing the shutter button was longer which surely does not help as far as shake goes.

Sorry If I seem to be missing something obvious but I though by experimenting with the modes used for automatic settings I might learn a little more

If anybody has any Help\tips\Tricks etc for using the DSLR initially It would be much appreciated if you could pass them on

Thanks

Paul

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Paul Morgan e2
13 16.1k 6 England
9 Jun 2007 5:36PM
Hi Paul welcome to epz and the mad house. Why don`t you upload some images to the critique gallery for extra help.

Paul
woolybill1 e2
8 18 65 United Kingdom
9 Jun 2007 6:07PM
Hello Paul,