Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

hi

12 Jul 2012 1:07PM
Sad hi my name is kathy, i am pretty new to photography, i have had some good shots and bad. i have just come back from london for a couple of days and reveiwed my pictures. some of them are ok but the night time ones have come out all blurry and i dont know why. i had the setting on landscape majority of the time. please can someone explain what i have done wrong.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

justin c 10 4.5k 36 England
12 Jul 2012 1:21PM
It's likely to be camera shake by the sounds of it. Night photography means slow shutter speeds which means a decent tripod is pretty much essential.
Cybalist 2 21 United Kingdom
12 Jul 2012 1:43PM
Your camera should have a NIGHT mode, try using that. Or if it has an "A" mode (Aperture Priority), use that and set the aperture to the smallest number (might be something like f1.4 or f2 or f2.8), that'll give you the highest possible shutter speed which will help eliminate camera shake. If your camera has an anti-shake or stability feature, turn it on. You can also up the ISO to maybe 400 or even 800 (if you don't mind some noise grain). But as justin c says, use a tripod for best results.