Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Home Studio kit..Which one??

Matman 6 37 United Kingdom
17 Jun 2008 2:05PM
Hi All,

I did have a browse through the forum and didn't see what I was after so apologies if this has already been asked...Smile

I have a spare room at home and would like to create a studio for portraiture (people/pets etc). I have no experience at all and need to learn all about lighting and the kit that is used, so any url's to good beginners sites that you could point me at would be great?

Also, on a budget of about 500 - 700 pounds, could anybody recommend a decent home studio kit?

Cheers

Matt

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

17 Jun 2008 3:01PM
Great stuff Chris, thanks for the pointers!

I will go away and look into it.

Cheers

Matt
17 Jun 2008 3:39PM
Matt,

You'll probably get a few different 'which ones to buy' responses and pretty much all of them will be wrong... and right!

The problem is, that different people have different needs, so need different solutions.

Your needs at the moment are pretty basic, and if you stick with portrait-type shots then pretty well anything (except the special offer Ebay wonder crap) will work for you.

Elinchrom & Bowens are both a good, safe choice. Both have a wide range of adjustment, consistent output and a good range of accessories. Personally I believe that Elinchrom has the edge but there isn't much in it. I believe that Elinchrom are even more overpriced than Bowens, and Bowens have the advantage that there are quite a few cheap third party modifiers available in their S-mount accessory fitting.