Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

How can I tell if this charity shop lens is a good one?

25 Apr 2013 11:06PM
I've found a Conison Auto MC 50mm f1.7 lens in a local charity shop for 8. It looked in good condition so I found a 6 for a mount converter for my Canon 600d on ebay.

I'm fairly new to the dSLR world and the cost of a new, or even used, upgrade lens means I've got to save some pennies for a while yet. So for less than 15 I thought I'd give it a go.

While I think this lens looks like it takes good pictures with a nice bokeh (when I get the manual settings right) I've only got the 18-55mm kit lens to compare it against. I quite liked having to set focus and aperture myself and it felt like it made me think a bit more about the settings.

img-1536.jpg

I've taken a few photos on the way home, so I was wondering if anyone with a bit more knowledge than me would be able to judge the quality of the lens. Apologies if other areas of the photos are poor, composition etc, but I'm just learning the trade and wanted to get a couple of snaps in.

img-1375.jpg

img-1495.jpg

img-1517.jpg

img-1530.jpg

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

25 Apr 2013 11:39PM
working well nice find.
joshwa e2
4 710 United Kingdom
25 Apr 2013 11:50PM
Cosina aren't known as a particularly high quality brand, but from the photos you've posted it looks like it's giving you sharp results, and from the photo of the lens it looks clean and in decent condition. Decent value for money too, and may be useful in low light with a bright aperture. PS Welcome to the site Smile
Paul Morgan e2
13 16.1k 6 England
26 Apr 2013 12:13AM