Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

How can I tell if this charity shop lens is a good one?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

bigtommy79
25 Apr 2013 - 11:06 PM

I've found a Conison Auto MC 50mm f1.7 lens in a local charity shop for 8. It looked in good condition so I found a 6 for a mount converter for my Canon 600d on ebay.

I'm fairly new to the dSLR world and the cost of a new, or even used, upgrade lens means I've got to save some pennies for a while yet. So for less than 15 I thought I'd give it a go.

While I think this lens looks like it takes good pictures with a nice bokeh (when I get the manual settings right) I've only got the 18-55mm kit lens to compare it against. I quite liked having to set focus and aperture myself and it felt like it made me think a bit more about the settings.

img-1536.jpg

I've taken a few photos on the way home, so I was wondering if anyone with a bit more knowledge than me would be able to judge the quality of the lens. Apologies if other areas of the photos are poor, composition etc, but I'm just learning the trade and wanted to get a couple of snaps in.

img-1375.jpg

img-1495.jpg

img-1517.jpg

img-1530.jpg

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
25 Apr 2013 - 11:06 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

GarethRobinson
GarethRobinson e2 Member 7954 forum postsGarethRobinson vcard United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
25 Apr 2013 - 11:39 PM

working well nice find.

joshwa
joshwa ePHOTOzine Staff 3596 forum postsjoshwa vcard United Kingdom
25 Apr 2013 - 11:50 PM