Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

How do I make a homemade lightbox?

20 Mar 2013 6:24PM
I'm a relative newbie to macro but hope some of you will be able to give me some advice on making a homemade lightbox.

I have seen some great flower macro shots recently and have love the well lit images. The lighting seems more diffused and natural. I have a couple of questions:

1. Is a lightbox the way to go, rather than table lamps?

2. Having trawled the web, is there a good way to make a homemade version? (Budget is quite tight unfortunately Sad )

Many thanks for any advice.

Julie

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Pete e2
13 18.7k 96 England
20 Mar 2013 6:28PM
The key thing you're trying to do is diffuse the light, and make it even. Perspex works really well and the main thing is a sheet of perspex, then you can put any light behind that, daylight corrected fluorescent tubes work well. Failing that try a white bed sheet and light from behind.
20 Mar 2013 6:30PM
Many thanks Pete. I feel a trip to the fabric shop coming on! Wink
cattyal e2
9 6.4k 6 England
20 Mar 2013 6:36PM
I have a large plain (lightweight) picture frame with a piece of white shower curtain stretched across it - that works quite well too.....
Pete e2
13 18.7k 96 England
20 Mar 2013 6:41PM

Quote:large plain (lightweight) picture frame with a piece of white shower curtain stretched across it

Great idea!Grin
20 Mar 2013 7:02PM
there are some ideas in utube google
Baden e2
3 156 United Kingdom
20 Mar 2013 7:13PM
Some great ideas already Julie, try googling "lighting scrim" I have used similar method as cattyal, but instead of a shower curtain I used grease proof paper! Smile

Good Luck and looking forward to seeing to results Smile

Baden
20 Mar 2013 7:15PM