Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

How do I make a homemade lightbox?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    JulieAsh
    JulieAsh  2 Scotland
    20 Mar 2013 - 6:24 PM

I'm a relative newbie to macro but hope some of you will be able to give me some advice on making a homemade lightbox.

I have seen some great flower macro shots recently and have love the well lit images. The lighting seems more diffused and natural. I have a couple of questions:

1. Is a lightbox the way to go, rather than table lamps?

2. Having trawled the web, is there a good way to make a homemade version? (Budget is quite tight unfortunately Sad )

Many thanks for any advice.

Julie

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    20 Mar 2013 - 6:24 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Pete
    Pete Site Moderator 1318442 forum postsPete vcard ePz Advertiser England96 Constructive Critique Points
    20 Mar 2013 - 6:28 PM

The key thing you're trying to do is diffuse the light, and make it even. Perspex works really well and the main thing is a sheet of perspex, then you can put any light behind that, daylight corrected fluorescent tubes work well. Failing that try a white bed sheet and light from behind.

JulieAsh
    JulieAsh  2 Scotland
    20 Mar 2013 - 6:30 PM

Many thanks Pete. I feel a trip to the fabric shop coming on! Wink

cattyal
    cattyal e2 Member 96032 forum postscattyal vcard England6 Constructive Critique Points
    20 Mar 2013 - 6:36 PM

I have a large plain (lightweight) picture frame with a piece of white shower curtain stretched across it - that works quite well too.....

Pete