Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

How good are digital cameras ?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Ravi
    Ravi  12
    27 Jul 2002 - 11:33 AM

I am new to photography and recently purchased a Dynax 5 about 6 months ago. One of the main reasons for choosing an SLR is that there is great flexibility with lens choices and also with the exposure settings etc. However, the downside is that as a novice, I need to uses rolls of film before I see my results and this can be expensive too.

I am apprehensive about buying a digital camera as once you've got it you're stuck with it (unless one gets a hugely expensive digital SLR). Do 5Meg DC's take macro shots and how good are they ? What are they like with extreme zooms ?

Any recommendations ?

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    27 Jul 2002 - 11:33 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

J-P
    J-P  11396 forum posts
    27 Jul 2002 - 12:46 PM

You have the smallest, lightest SLR in the world. It has multi mode auto, a spot meter, auto bracketing, very fast AF and a battery that lasts 3600 shots. It can also shoot at 3fps. No digital camera could do this let alone in a 335g body. Anything close will be very expensive. Lenses are cheap and plentiful. Sure you have to buy film but you can get Sensia 100 36 exp for 1.90 a roll. You still have to print off digital images to really see results and this takes time. Save time and money and stick with your Dynax.

Ravi
    Ravi  12
    27 Jul 2002 - 2:02 PM

Thank you - you have confirmed my suspicions and reassured me.

cdxpat
    cdxpat  12
    29 Jul 2002 - 7:10 AM

Ravi