Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

How to choose a Digital camera with manual settings?

Desh_M 9 386
11 Jul 2005 9:34PM
Hi,

I am a beginner in photography and I do not know much about cameras. I currently own an "Olympus Digital C 450" and most of the settings are automatic, including shutter speed, focus etc.

I want to buy a digital camera with the following capabilities,

1) Should be able to change the shutter speed manually. (For example if it's dark I should be able to choose a slower shutter speed etc.)

2) Should be able to focus manually

3)I like macro photography, so the camera should have good capabilities for macro photography

4) Finally it should be no more than 500$

Can anybody recommend a camera with the above capabilities since I feel at a loss what to buy?
Your help will be much appreciated.
:0)

Thanks

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

glazzaro e2
9 70 23 United States
11 Jul 2005 10:01PM
Are you looking for a digital SLR or just a point and shoot type. With you limiting to the 500 dollar range would be tough to find an SLR at that range. For point and shoot types try looking at the Nikon coolpix series.

Greg
JEFFERIES 9 57
11 Jul 2005 10:18PM
agree with greg, i had a coolpix 8800 and was very good

Luke
UserRemoved 10 526
11 Jul 2005 11:28PM