Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

How to read histograms ?

Divya e2
3 6 United States
29 Aug 2012 9:07PM
I am a beginner in photography. I was reading last night about exposure and I came across histograms. It got me completely confused Sad. Can someone tell me how to read histograms and how to get correct exposure using histograms ? Smile

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Paintman e2
8 902 173 United Kingdom
29 Aug 2012 9:17PM
This will help

Basically the histogram shows the tonal information in the photo. This, in most cameras, is a representation of a jpg output and not the RAW information. There is more information held in the lighter parts of the histogram than in the darker parts and that's why it's best to shoot to the right whilst not blowing out the highlights.
mikehit e2
5 7.1k 11 United Kingdom
29 Aug 2012 9:28PM
In an nutshell, the aim is to take a picture without the curve of the graph hitting the right hand side of the histogram. If too much information is at the limits to the right it means that you have 'overexposed' and you cannot recover any detail from the brighter areas. Similarly if it hits the left hand edge of the histogram it means you have underexposed parts of it and you will lose data in the shadows.

Usually the single-curve histogram is sufficient - you can on higher-level cameras get the RGB histogram that looks at the red, green and blue channels separately and this can be useful because the red channel is often the first to 'blow' (think photos of red roses or Ferraris).