Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

I have a Canon 40D - I need a good wedding lens! Please HELP!!

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
I_SPY
I_SPY  4173 forum posts United Kingdom
26 Dec 2009 - 9:49 PM

Hello people!
I am a wedding photographer, currently using a Canon 40D, I have the kit lens 17-85, and a tamrom 70-200.

I am thinking of selling my kit lens (17-85) and buying myself a Canon L: series 24-70 f2.8, I dont do heavy amounts of weddings, but I would like to one day become a recognised wedding photographer. I use the ex 580ii flash gun with the gary fong.

my question is, which lens do You think I should buy?
Shall I go ahead and buy the 24-70 L: series £1,100 or shall I consider the 24-105 L: series? or shall I consider a different brand altogether, tamron, sigma?

I cant afford a range of lens, and spending £1,100 is a big ask!! I want to hopefully one day, upgrade to a 5D or something along them lines..

Can you PLEASE advise me on what to do, so I dont waste my money Sad

Many thanks for those who read and replied!

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
26 Dec 2009 - 9:49 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

I_SPY
26 Dec 2009 - 10:12 PM

Ok and another Question:
The canon 24 - 70 L series does not have IS ? is that important?
over the 24 - 105 which does have IS?

HELLLLPPPP!!!!

Coleslaw
Coleslaw e2 Member 813402 forum postsColeslaw vcard Wales28 Constructive Critique Points
26 Dec 2009 - 10:23 PM

read here

User_Removed
26 Dec 2009 - 10:43 PM

Quote: I am a wedding photographer

Really..??

Why are you asking these kinds of questions then.?

(You haven't got friend with a surname of Bower by any chance have you..??)