Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Jpeg or Raw?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
rjlee
rjlee  6
31 May 2007 - 4:12 PM

Hi all. I am new to photography. I have a Fuji S5600. Not as good as your beasts I am sure, but I am very pleased with it. May I please ask, what benefit, as a hobyist, would I have in shooting RAW? What are the limitations with JPEG? If this a question that requires a long answer, do any of you know a good site that could answer this for me?... Thank you for your time.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
31 May 2007 - 4:12 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

andytvcams
andytvcams  1110396 forum posts United Kingdom
31 May 2007 - 4:22 PM

Here is a good site

Smile Smile

Last Modified By andytvcams at 31 May 2007 - 4:22 PM
rossd
rossd  111061 forum posts England
31 May 2007 - 6:47 PM

It's very simple really. Shoot a few images under varying light conditions in RAW and the same images using full size jpegs. Do your processing for both formats and get them printed (I went up to A3). Compare both prints (preferably with a x 5 loupe) - especially look for detail in the shadow areas. If the prints from the processed RAW images are better than the jpegs then stick to RAW. If there is no difference (as in my case) then stick to jpegs.

peterjones
peterjones e2 Member 123785 forum postspeterjones vcard United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
31 May 2007 - 7:23 PM

RAW v JPEG will rumble on far longer than Film v Digital ever did; my thinking is that RAW may indeed give preferable results to JPEG but I suspect the difference as discerned by the human eye is insignificant .