Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Lightroom - v - Photoshop

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

canonfan46
16 Jan 2013 - 8:26 PM

Hi all,
I have been working with RAW files for 2/3 years now and have Lightroom 4 and Photoshop CS6 to process my images.
As you can imagine, starting as a complete beginner, I have foud it a long learning process that I have only scratched the surface of.

I have mainly worked in the develope mode of LR for most of my processing such as exposure, white balance, sharpening, noise, contrast etc. I have found LR easier to get onto the basics than PS.
All my learning has been through many books and videos from all sorts of sources. Not to mention the many questions I have had answered on this site.

I have just downloaded the 123di program and have spent the last 24 hours studying parts of it.
I have had a look at the LR and the PS content and although most of the advanced stuff is way over my head, I found the lessons very good.

I am not saying that I fully understand and use every function in Lightroom but I have found most of it fairly straight forward. Because of this I tended to ingnore PS except for manipulations.
Now that I am looking deeper into the working of PS, I am finding that package ten times more complicated than LR. There seems to be a vast amount that is not in LR.

My question is (as last) for those of you who have both LR and PS, which program would you use the most. Do you find that the controls/adjustments that are in LR are all you need to process a standard image (no manipulation) or do you still use parts of PS to adjust standard images?