Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Lightroom 4.2 help

gary.d e2
12 134 United Kingdom
11 Oct 2012 12:03PM
I'm a LR4 newbie so just starting to get to grips with it.

I'm in the process of importing folders from a catalog on an almost full external hard drive to a new catalog on another external hard drive. It's largely gone okay but there is one folder containing 6,000 images where the keywords have been 'lost'. Naturally I don't want to have do them all again so any advice on how to restore them is appreciated.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

lobsterboy e2
11 14.3k 13 United Kingdom
11 Oct 2012 12:05PM
How did you put the keywords on the files in the first place?
mikehit e2
5 7.1k 11 United Kingdom
11 Oct 2012 12:10PM
I don't know if this is what you have done but I would just backup the catalogue to the second external disc.
gary.d e2
12 134 United Kingdom
11 Oct 2012 12:12PM
I added the keywords via the keyword panel at the time the pictures were imported from the card, in much the same way as I have done for the past ten years.

What's curious is that the first eight images of the folder in question have keywords but the rest of the 6,100+ images don't. The source folder has all the keywords in place. I have imported dozens of other folders using the same method and it's worked fine so this one has me stumped.
lobsterboy e2
11 Oct 2012 12:34PM

Quote:I'm in the process of importing folders from a catalog on an almost full external hard drive to a new catalog on another external hard drive. It's largely gone okay but there is one folder containing 6,000 images where the keywords have been 'lost'.