Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Lightroom 4.3 problem

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • 1
    • »
    PSILVERMAN
    PSILVERMAN  101253 forum posts England
    14 Feb 2013 - 5:49 AM

    Can anyone tell me how to remedy this one please?
    I'm running 2 Macs one is Snow Leopard and the other Mountain Lion (if that's relevant) I use LR 4.3 on both and using one hard drive on both from a particular shoot. When I take out the hard drive from one (MBP) and place it in the other (imac) LR loses not only the catalog but also all my presets too! It's really annoying having to keep loading them all up again.
    Hope someone can help,
    Cheers, Phil.

    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    14 Feb 2013 - 5:49 AM

    Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

    JJGEE
    JJGEE  96354 forum posts England18 Constructive Critique Points
    14 Feb 2013 - 9:02 AM

    Are the following on the hard drive that you are moving ?

    Catalog
    Lightroom 4.lrcat

    Previews
    Lightroom 4 Previews.lrdata ( Not entirely necessary but saves you re-generating them )

    Presets
    Can be found here

    Quote: Installed and custom presets and templates have filenames ending in .lrtemplate and are located in the [user name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom folder.


    If, when you open LR you find question mark ? on the images it means LR cannot reference ( find ) the catalog so you may have to give it a nudge in the rigth direction Wink

    PSILVERMAN
    PSILVERMAN  101253 forum posts England
    14 Feb 2013 - 9:10 AM

    Thanks for the reply, the catalog is stored on both the external and also on both computers.
    All my presets vanish too. This doesn't happen every time though which is perplexing.

    lemmy
    lemmy  71949 forum posts United Kingdom
    14 Feb 2013 - 11:25 AM

    After you've loaded LR, manually open the catalog in the location it resides. Then set it not to 'load last used catalog'.

    PSILVERMAN
    PSILVERMAN  101253 forum posts England
    14 Feb 2013 - 11:49 AM

    Will give that a go tonight. Thanks.

    lemmy
    lemmy  71949 forum posts United Kingdom
    14 Feb 2013 - 12:26 PM


    Quote: Will give that a go tonight. Thanks.

    Good luck. Just to underline, if it works, that you'll need to locate and load the catalog manually every time you change machines. Once you've done it, you can go back to 'loading the last used catalog' until you change machines again.

    On Windows, you can set the disk to always assign itself a given drive letter - I set mine to W: - so that Lightroom (and any other program) will find its files automatically because the drive letter and thus paths remain the same. I don't know if you can do this on a Mac but I'd be very surprised if you can't.

    PSILVERMAN
    PSILVERMAN  101253 forum posts England
    14 Feb 2013 - 6:25 PM

    I think I have it, The MBP LR didn't have "Keep presets with catalog" checked whereas the imac did. I hope it's as simple as that but I suppose time will tell. Thanks Lemmy. Grin

    lemmy
    lemmy  71949 forum posts United Kingdom
    14 Feb 2013 - 10:40 PM

    Fingers crossed!

    • «
    • 1
    • »

    Add a Comment

    You must be a member to leave a comment

    Username:
    Password:
    Remember me:
    Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.