Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Lightroom v Photoshop - hope this hasn't been asked before

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    born2bongo
    born2bongo e2 Member 529 forum postsborn2bongo vcard England
    14 Jul 2009 - 11:31 AM

Though I've taken snaps for years, I'm just starting out to serioously develop my photographs. I'm used to using Photoshop for graphic design (web buttons, etc), but less so for photography.

I have acquired my (limited) developing knowledge either online or from photographers I know. The latter category amounts to 3 people, 2 of whom are augmenting their income from their work.

They all use Lightroom, and only Lightroom. Considering the large number of people who use Photoshop and similar tools, I wonder why. So far only one has commented, and he prefers the non-invasive editing of Lightroom.

It seems to me there is still a lot of stuff you can't do in Lightroom and you need Photoshop for, such as applying changes to a part of the picture only. Are they discarding photos they can't fix in Lightroom, or am I missing something?

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    14 Jul 2009 - 11:31 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

collywobles
    14 Jul 2009 - 11:39 AM

Quote: such as applying changes to a part of the picture only

Not sure you correct here, I'm sure I have watched a Lightroom Video which did just this on the Adobe Website itself. They took sections of a landscape and adjust them independantly.

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful
    joolsb
    joolsb e2 Member 927107 forum postsjoolsb vcard Switzerland38 Constructive Critique Points