Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Looking to get a Compact Camera

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

maxpark3r
maxpark3r  1
19 Jun 2013 - 7:27 PM

Hi,
I am going to thailand for several weeks over the summer and I am looking to invest in a camera to capture the scenery.
I am looking to buy a compact camera with interchangeable lenses and I have around 200-350 to spend. I am looking for the best camera within this price range. I have read reviews that the Nex-3n is a good camera, which is at the higher price, and my sister has an olympus e-pm1 which is at the lower end of the price.
I am a beginner photographer and I am looking at improving my skills.
Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
19 Jun 2013 - 7:27 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ChiliMan
ChiliMan e2 Member 8135 forum postsChiliMan vcard Singapore17 Constructive Critique Points
19 Jun 2013 - 9:15 PM

I love the Pen series so I would be biased towards the E-PM1. I had the E-PL1 and now the E-PL3. Both are fantastic and the E-PM1 will have the same image quality.

Saying that, the Nex-3n has a larger sensor and reviews suggest excellent image quality, noise handling and superb battery life. Very compact too. AND it has a built-in flash.

Tough call. But the Sony possibly wins. It might lose to the E-PM2...but I reckon it would beat the E-PM1. Especially for the APS-C sensor to begin with.

Gosh...hope this has been even slightly helpful Smile

ChiliMan
ChiliMan e2 Member 8135 forum postsChiliMan vcard Singapore17 Constructive Critique Points
19 Jun 2013 - 10:25 PM

Thought I should clarify what I said at the end: BOTH the E-PMs would lose in terms of sensor size.