Join Now
Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!
Just had the email below, and I think this may be a scam.
At first, I was almost taken in by the inclusion of my name, and the fact, that yes I do own an Epson printer.
But 'Dear Mr' and 'entered into a drawing for one of the four checks for £150 each' suggest something not entirely legit.
Just wanted to flag this one up here as it has a photographic subject, and is quite a cleaver scam. If you receive this email be warned.
Quote: Dear Mr Matt Whorlow,
As an Epson printer user, you are invited to participate in this survey conducted by Lyra Research on behalf of Epson. The purpose of this study is to understand your use of Epson printers, and the data will be used for Epson to provide better products and services to you in the future. Please click on the URL below to be taken directly into the survey.
http://vovici.com/l.dll/JGsA5B6D970B5lPyD9U464173J.htm
As a token of our appreciation, you will be entered into a drawing for one of the four checks for £150 each. Please be assured that your answers to this survey will be kept completely confidential and will be used in combination with answers from other participants for analytical purposes only. We do not share individual information with any other parties.
Thank you for your participation!
Lyra Research
Quote: is to understand your use of Epson printers
Eerr! Printing .....When its not clogged up that is......
Quote: into a drawing for one of the four checks for £150 each
This ones a trick question to see if your awake.....
You have to print a drawing of 4 cheques, Each made out for £150.......![]()
Perhaps not, Maybe the spell check was on holiday, Or making the tea....![]()
From what I can see it actually does seem to be from a legit company. Both Vovici and lyra reaserch seem tobe legit companies AFAICS.
Quote: into a drawing for one of the four checks for £150 each
Is that not just the american wording ?
Well I assume they just insert a different currency & amount depending on the persons country of registration.
Dont think this is a scam - lots of companies do this kind of research to check how their products are used. They normally offer some small incentive like a voucher etc to get you to send them the details. Your personall details may well have come from when you registered you warrany. Colin
Quote: is to understand your use of Epson printers
Eerr! Printing .....When its not clogged up that is......
This ones a trick question to see if your awake.....
Perhaps not, Maybe the spell check was on holiday, Or making the tea....![]()
Anyone else see the irony here? ![]()
Clogging, yes I remember that. Fortunately a thing of the past after switching from Epson to Canon.
Never had clogging problems on mine - OEM carts only and the jobs a good 'un!
![]()
Quote: Never had clogging problems on mine
Same here, except that I use the cheapest inks and paper I can lay my hands on.
Only time I had a clogging problem with my Epson was after using a cheap brand from Ebay. I spoke to epson about supplying a cleaning cartridge but they said using a quality brand ( not necessarily their own, but they did reccommend that) would clear the problem, which it did.
As far as the Email is concerned, the company is legitimate but is fishing for active sites, that's why they tell you "your profile does not fit what we are looking for"
Add a Comment
ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.




















