Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

macro.

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
eddie1
eddie1 e2 Member 2eddie1 vcard United Kingdom
28 Jun 2012 - 5:55 PM

Can someone tell me which is best when it comes to macro lenses,is it 1.1,1.2 or 1.3. and does the distance in length away from the subject differ. as you can tell im a bit of a novice.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
28 Jun 2012 - 5:55 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

youmightlikethis
youmightlikethis e2 Member 11987 forum postsyoumightlikethis vcard Scotland
28 Jun 2012 - 6:29 PM

a 1.1 macro lens is a true macro lens which should fill the frame with the flower insect ect longer focal lens will give you more working distance eg 105 mm better than 60mm

ianrobinson
ianrobinson e2 Member 41106 forum postsianrobinson vcard United Kingdom8 Constructive Critique Points
28 Jun 2012 - 7:45 PM

as above, well put.
I use a canon 100mm f2.8 l is usm macro lens it is sharp and used with macro lights you will get the depth of field you need, i use a 2x converter on my 100mm and achieve a 200mm macro lens which i can get even closer still making it 4x magnification, i use the canon twin macro flash which i find very good as i can position the lights exactly where i want them.

Ian

justin c
justin c  104504 forum posts England36 Constructive Critique Points
28 Jun 2012 - 8:21 PM

A 2x extender on a 100mm macro lens gives you twice lifesize not 4x.

KevinEllison
KevinEllison e2 Member 72417 forum postsKevinEllison vcard England
28 Jun 2012 - 10:55 PM