Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Macro Lens

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Perry_95
Perry_95  359 forum posts Wales1 Constructive Critique Points
18 Apr 2011 - 8:35 PM

Really want a macro lens for my pentax k-x, i am looking at getting those stunning up-close shots of bee's eyes and the pollen on a fly's foot, maybe wont be AS good as i can imagine because of the restricting entry level camera. Which lenses, flashes, and/or extension tubes etc are best for me? I am a 15yr old beginner who will probably get the equipment through saving, birthday and christmas. I am looking at getting good quality gear but i dont think it is essential to have equipment so fine tuned and expensive that only proffesional photographers who spend years taking shots can see a minimal difference. I would also like to know the importance of getting the, lets say, flash so that i can decide where it can go on my priority list Smile

I am already looking at a 100mm f/2.8 1:1 macro lens however in time when wanting to expand my 1:1 to possibly a 2:1 or higher magnification and i will need to be carrying 100mm worth of extension tubes. Also will it work have a teleconverter and being the same distance from the "fly" ??

Any help/input/advice will be greatly appreciated Smile

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
18 Apr 2011 - 8:35 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

thewilliam
18 Apr 2011 - 8:55 PM

When I did real close-up work many years ago, also with a Pentax but this was when the Spotmatic was modern, I used a 50mm enlarging lens mounted on a bellows, sometimes with extension tubes as well.

These days you can get a really good enlarging lens for next to nothing and a manual bellows won't cost much.

User_Removed