Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Macro lens for D5100

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Redziggy
    28 May 2013 - 8:47 PM

Hello would so appreciate some help, I'm new to photography and want to get a macro lens to shoot insects etc, would the Nikon-AF-S-Micro-NIKKOR-40mm be ok for this? I've googled a lot and can't find a definitive answer!

I don't have a huge budget for it, so does anyone have any advice on this or an alternative lens?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am finding it all very confusing! Smile

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    28 May 2013 - 8:47 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

justin c
    justin c  104504 forum posts England36 Constructive Critique Points
    28 May 2013 - 9:26 PM

It'll be ok for certain subjects, providing your fieldcraft skills are good, i.e. getting close. The better option and the one preferred by many for insect photography is a longer focal length macro lens, with various options available from 90mm to 180mm. The longer focal length will give you greater working distance and a narrower angle of view, making it easier to isolate your subject against the background.
    Don't limit your choice to just Nikon lenses, Tamron and Sigma will also provide macro lenses capable of superb results.

Coventryphotog
    Coventryphotog Junior Member 1149 forum posts United Kingdom
    28 May 2013 - 10:07 PM

Most macro lenses are pretty good, I use a Tamron 90 personally, and for the money it is excellent - no VR though....

GazzaG2003
    GazzaG2003  11248 forum posts England
    28 May 2013 - 10:11 PM