Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Making Money From Photography

sugarbird 10 223 South Africa
5 Jan 2005 8:12PM
I am a clearly a people/portrait photographer but having done a few exhibitions, they are certainly not the best sellers, in fact my flower shots sell much better, people will buy pictures of themselves or loved ones but it is cetainly hard to sell portraits, from what I see on this site, Landscapes must be great sellers but I am hopless at them, animals and birds seem a good bet too, I do not want to be a starving artist again so making some money is just practical and realistic, any advice on the best way to sell portraits would be great. I have had one article published on my "recovery pictures" and I did get paid for it but that was clearly an awareness article....and am now concentrating more on the local folk and surrounds..thanks.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

steve neil 10 597 Australia
5 Jan 2005 9:08PM
The problem with creative photographers like yourself Jill is you are an artist first and a photographer second. Lets face it, we enjoy expressing ourselves, no matter what others think. We enjoy the buzz that comes from exhibiting in front of an audience or having our work appreciated by others. And if we could get paid for it - wow - LOL

Of course you want some practical advise that will fit in with what you are currently producing. Off the top of my head I would say make yourself a wow portfolio on line and in print. Make contacts and if they are interested you have the means to show them your work. Stock Photography may also be an option for your imagery. What about a portrait business for artists?