Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Mamiya 645 Pro - Any thoughts?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Coast
Coast Critique Team 6764 forum postsCoast vcard United Kingdom290 Constructive Critique Points
10 May 2009 - 10:03 PM

Many years ago I dabbled with Medium Format with a Bronica ETRSi and later a SQa. Then a long absence from anything other than family snaps before indulging my hobby properly once more in the digital age with a Canon 5D.
I have an opportunity to purchase a Mamiya 645 pro with AE prism finder, 120 film back, 80mm lens and drive grip. I have little knowledge of the Mamiya system and would appreciate anything that you could tell me about it.

For instance is it still servicable and possible to build up with additional lenses etc. Can you get a digital back for this model?

How will the film quality compare to my 5D digital?

Am I doing the right thing and is this a good way back into film? Will be used for portraits in the main.

Regards
Paul

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
10 May 2009 - 10:03 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

gringoninjo
10 May 2009 - 11:00 PM

You can't go far wrong with a Mamiya anything. Full stop.
All cameras are servicable.
All SLRs have a lens system.
You're buying a film camera, what d'you want a digital back for? Why not buy a new digital camera if that's what you want? Digitogs always mention that digital is so much cheaper and then want to buy and 'upgrade' constantly.
The 'sensor' (film) is more than three times the size of the chip in the 5D but you'll have to learn how to get the best out of it. The Mamiya will last longer than the 5D too.
Only you know if it's the right thing to do.