Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Medium format advice

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

frankiej
frankiej  2 United Kingdom
16 Jan 2013 - 2:36 PM

Hi there, just wondering whether anyone could offer me some advice about getting a medium format camera. I'm new to MF but have film 35mm and digital but would like to try MF. I'd like something that's not too cumbersome, has a light meter (a bit out of practice with manual exposures, although shoot manual digital) , not overly expensive, maybe 200-300. Think that's it! I was looking at a Bronica Sq but not sure how big they are?! Any advice most welcome! Cheers

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
16 Jan 2013 - 2:36 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

icphoto
icphoto  13950 forum posts England
16 Jan 2013 - 2:54 PM

How about a Bronica ETRSi, with 75mm lens speedgrip and AEII meter prism, it shoots 6x4.5cm. I used one for years as a workhorse, pretty good camera, expect to pay around your budget for one. Or a Pentax 645 - more automated ideal as a move from digital, price about the same. If you want a brick, you cannot go wrong with a Pentax 67 or Mamiya RB67, but they are big and heavy.Wink

Pete
Pete Site Moderator 1318430 forum postsPete vcard ePz Advertiser England96 Constructive Critique Points
16 Jan 2013 - 3:00 PM

It's worth reading this article : Guide to Medium Format which explains the differences in format as that's the first thing you need to decide before which model. Some are multi-format, but at least if you have a clear idea of your preferred format you can start on the right lines.

AndyMurdo
AndyMurdo  833 forum posts United Kingdom6 Constructive Critique Points
16 Jan 2013 - 3:32 PM