Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Memory Card Issue

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    pablophotographer

Hello everybody.

I am relatively new in the digital world of picture taking, I think things were simpler when we only used film.
    I would like your help regarding an issue I have faced with the Optima SDHC memory card 8gb I have.

I had taken some pictures for a group project for a class I am attending with a Panasonic DMC-FZ45 superzoom camera (neither the card nor the camera had failed me before - got them about a year ago approximately). I wanted to share them with class mates and because the file was too big to send altogether a classmate asked me the card, which was working fine until that moment, to upload it to a place where the other members could download the pics they wanted. As he inserted the SD card in the memory slot reader of his Toshiba laptop he told me that he couldn't see the card. Took it out, inserted it again, no result. Passed it to another fellow student, same make of laptop (Toshiba is the creator of SD cards) which it could not read it either.

I took the memory card back worried and inserted it in the camera. It was not recognised by it, camera brought a warning that the pictures taken will be recorded in the internal camera memory. I took the card and placed it in the memory card slot of the Toshiba laptop I have been given. My laptop could read all the pictures. I copied the memory card contents. I tested if I could see the pictures from the camera for several days, but without sucess, before I post my question here.