Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Metering, colour balance, shooting mode for photographing rugby.

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    gmcphotography

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the world of sports photography, and although i have my own way of doing things I wondered if others who photograph rugby or similar sports had any tips or techniques to share regarding metering, colour balance and shooting mode (ie manual, shutter priority)

I shoot fully manual, because the camears exposure changes depending upon how many white strips or dark strips are being metered. The drawback is that during floodlit games the level of light is not consistent throughout the pitch and I have to remember to alter the exposure depending upon where the action is. Sometimes I don't have time or forget. Is there a better, automatic way of getting a consistent exposure? Any other tips greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Gordon

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    8 Feb 2013 - 4:11 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

GarethRobinson
    GarethRobinson e2 Member 8992 forum postsGarethRobinson vcard United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
    8 Feb 2013 - 5:32 PM

If your camera has auto iso feature try it, say you need 1/250th for shutter and f4 for dof. Dial that in - in manual mode. Then go into auto iso setting and set minimum shutter to 1/250th and minimum iso 100 and max iso say 3200. Matrix or Spot metering whichever you prefer. As for white balance set it to what ever light conditions is needed not auto. If shooting raw you can change it later anyway.

Last Modified By GarethRobinson at 8 Feb 2013 - 5:35 PM
    puertouk