Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Models & Lenses

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    jaspernina
    27 Jul 2007 - 11:14 AM

Hi All

As you can see by my PF, flowers are my main subject, however wanted to get in to portrait photograhy but wasn't able to find any willing models, whenever i pointed a camera at my mates they ran, as i would Wink. My god son is in college and i had a visit from him and three of his girlfriends who would love their photo taken.

I have a D200 and a Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G AF-S IF ED DX lense, which should be ok & a SB-800 flash. As I'm just beginning in the subject do i really have to buy a studio kit or are there ways around this? Should i have the models to sign some sort of Disclainer, they are 17 & 18 years old. It is only head shots that i am interested in at the moment, espeically eye shots. Do you know of good books to point me in the wright direction.

Your help is greatly appreciated

Stephen

Last Modified By jaspernina at 27 Jul 2007 - 11:16 AM
    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    27 Jul 2007 - 11:14 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

peter_davey
    27 Jul 2007 - 12:07 PM

You don't need to use expensive studio kit, your flash gun a difuser and a reflector will do to get started with.

Release forms are a good idea - but if you're not selling the images and they are only for personal use you should be ok.

The best thing to do to develop further would be to use an experienced model - else it's the blind leading the blind - I learnt this a while back.

They can range from Free ( TFP) Time for prints ro expensive 50 - 100 per hour - just check out any of the modeling web sites.

HTH

Pete

elowes