Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Modern DSLRs - Too many features??

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

User_Removed
23 Dec 2009 - 3:11 PM

Does anyone share my view that modern DSLRs have far too many features?

I have been using a Nikon D300 for about 2 years and I have never yet used features like Live View, Active D-Lighting or Exposure Bracketing.

Has anyone used those features and, if so, to what advantage?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
23 Dec 2009 - 3:11 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

timbo
timbo  12591 forum posts United Kingdom
23 Dec 2009 - 3:24 PM

Exposure bracketing has been around for years and was far more necessary when shooting film, especially important slide film as there was no histogram to look at.
I expect there are many togs who use every mode on their camera at one time or another. For me it is simply a case of shooting as i always have done - it works so why change it. Having said that maybe i'm missing out on something but i've yet to find out what.

strawman
strawman  1022006 forum posts United Kingdom16 Constructive Critique Points
23 Dec 2009 - 3:27 PM

I share some of your thoughts, especially on compacts as I often find I am fighting special scenery mode etc to get control. Now the sad bit I find I use the extra features.

Live view I use for tripod based work, macro and landscapes. I use it to precisely set the focus, and stopping down the lens means you can get a 10x zoom in view of the image stopped down (it takes about a second for the camera to ramp up the gain after you stop the lens down so it is not fast.. Also you can use the focus square to meter from so you can move it around the image to pick what you want to meter off.