Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Need help choosing a printer upgrade

pete146uk e2
2 25 1 United Kingdom
13 Nov 2012 4:50PM
Hi All

I've been using an Epson Stylus Photo R300 for many years and have been very pleased with the photo quality I can get upto A4 on decent photo paper. The time has now come to upgrade it.

I'm not looking to spend more than around 200 but I want to get the best photos I can from the printer. Brand wise, I would consider another Epson or a Canon, but the reviews are so confusing!

I thought I had settled on an Epson Photo PX830 (found one for 150) but they tell me it's been discontinued. Then there is the PX730 but is this as good? Then on here I saw the Canon Pixma iX6550 recommended for photo quality.

My Requirements are:

To be used with Imac with photoshop & lightroom
Not for commercial purposes, just to print at home for albums and frames occasionally
Wireless so I can keep it in a cupboard
I want the best quality photo printing possible for my budget (colour & B&W)

Anything else such as a good scanner, decent text printing, fast speeds etc are just an added bonus. My main consideration is best quality for reasonable up front cost of printer. I will never print directly from memory cards directly through the printer, it will always be via my computer.

I know it works out cheaper to send photos off to a printer, but I quite enjoy having the ability to print photos myself when I wish to.

Any help / suggestions would be greatly appreciated Smile

Finally - does anybody know whether the new Epson Expression range is any good? They seem to be replacing the Stylus range in the shops but I can't find many reviews!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Andy_Cundell e2
3 1.1k 5 England
13 Nov 2012 5:01PM
Pete