Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Need help please

azey 7 3
15 Jun 2007 5:26PM
Ive just got the fujifilm S9500 finepix but when im taking pics a green light seems to be beaming out off the camera and it says there must be a finger print etc on the lens but ive check and no mark,as im new to this and dont know much about it any help would be great and any tips plz cheers

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

miptog 9 3.5k 61 United Kingdom
15 Jun 2007 5:31PM
Dont actually have a S9500, but guessing the green beaming light is normal, as its usaully used to help the camera autofocus, and is standard on most digital cameras.

Suggest you switch the camera off, remove the batteries, wait a couple of mins, and then refit the batteries and switch on.

Mike
cats_123 e2
10 4.3k 25 Northern Ireland
15 Jun 2007 7:11PM

Quote:Left from the internal flash on the camera we find an AF assist illuminator. In dimly lit conditions this feature is definitely needed to control your focus. Press the shutter halfway down to allow the AF assist illuminator to fire. A bright green light will lighten the subject and it allows the S9500 digital camera easier focusing. You will obtain the best result in wide shots; telephotos are also helped by the AF-assistance but the effective range decreases.

just found the above from a general web search...perhaps it explains it. I have a Panasonic and it emits a red/amber light (when flash is closed)

hope that helps Smile
jeff
azey 7 3
15 Jun 2007 9:50PM
Thanks for the info on the camera and yes it does only go green when press half way down,