Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Newbie looking for advice on the Pentax K-x

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Jimmy_Dean0
    26 Dec 2009 - 9:19 PM

Hello All, and Best Wishes for 2010!

I am new to ePHOTOzine, and have been reading many reviews, and forum posts. I am planning on moving up from a Canon S5 IS to a DSLR. I have an old Minolta XG1 that I purchased new in about 1982 Smile, but it's been a while since I have looked at any SLRs.

So far my top choice is the Pentax K-x. I really like the low light performance in the reviews (I like to shoot candid portraits, indoors using natural light, which the S5 struggles with), and the 4.7 fps shooting capability (I always seem to catch people with their eyes closed Smile).

I am hoping that there may be some members who own the K-x who could comment on it's performance, and perhaps some who could offer comments on their experience with the K-x and perhaps a comparable system or sytems?

So far it seems the best "bang for the buck" may be the Pentax.

I have read every review I can find on the K-x, and several on a variety of Canon and Nikon systems, but I'd love to hear comments on real world experience - like what type life you can expect from NiMH AA batteries like the Sanyo Eneloops.

Thanks in advance for your insights.

JD

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    26 Dec 2009 - 9:19 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Jimmy_Dean0
    26 Dec 2009 - 9:26 PM