Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Nikon AF-S 50mm f/1.8G

iShan 2 1
29 Nov 2012 4:02PM
I'm an amateur photographer and a hobbyist. I've a Nikon D60 camera (DX format) and currently shoot with AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens. I also have a kit lens (AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II) and another lens (AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED) that I purchased. I sometimes shoot using these two.

I'm thinking about selling these two (18-55 and 55-200) lenses and purchasing a AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G lens. Please let me know if this will be a good choice or should I keep shooting with the current set of three lenses.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed 5 4.6k 1 Scotland
29 Nov 2012 4:12PM
It is difficult to comment without knowing what types of photography you currently enjoy.

There is certainly an unnecessary overlap within your current three lenses so some rationalisation would not go amiss.

With a crop-sensor dSLR like your D60, a fast 50mm prime lens is an excellent choice for portraits. The focal length is just right (very similar to the classic 75/85mm portrait lenses used on 35mm or FX cameras) and the fast maximum aperture allows you to restrict depth of field. Personally, though, I would save some money by getting the 50mm f/1.8D lens which is every bit as sharp as the more expensive G.

EddieAC 10 695 2 United Kingdom
29 Nov 2012 4:47PM
Leftforum is right in that the 50mm f/1.8D would be a good choice of lens for the price but the Nikon D60 does not have an inbuilt focusing motor and the f/1.8D relies on this for autofocus.