Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

nikon coolpix 8800 vs dslr

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    JEFFERIES
    JEFFERIES  957 forum posts
    8 May 2005 - 3:28 PM

i am new to photography and i brought my nikon 8800 (prosumer), my question is would i need to get an dslr in time, considering that i want to take photography really seriously. i find my camera fine but i struggle on capturing moving birds unless the light is good so i can up the shutter speed, i have tried upping the shutter speed but comes out dark. i am a novice so any help shall be gratefully digested.

Luke j

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    8 May 2005 - 3:28 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

PSILVERMAN
    8 May 2005 - 9:34 PM

Hi Luke,
    There are a lot of variables to be taken into account.In order to get a fast shutter speed you could try using a wide aperture but of course this will limit the depth of field.
    Another way would be to up your ISO setting,this again will give you a fast shutter speed but will increase noise a lot.
    If you are a complete beginner I would suggest buying a couple of books on the subject and of course keep photographing because practice makes perfect.
    If you are going to take photography seriously then you need to learn how shutter speeds and apertures and ISO settings work in relationship to each other.
    Hope that I've helped you out a bit,
    Good Luck, Phil

IanA
    IanA  103048 forum posts England12 Constructive Critique Points
    8 May 2005 - 10:12 PM

Hi Luke,
    You could also have a look at the Techniques Section and some of the articles on this site. Learn what you can with the prosumer before you contemplate an SLR.