Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Nikon D300/D300s high iso noise advice

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    sjportlock
    27 Feb 2011 - 9:51 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm a wildlife photographer looking to upgrade my camera body.

I currently use a Nikon D200, great camera and a total workhorse but the time has come to upgrade.

I find myself in quite a few low conditions and the beloved D200's high iso noise levels are to noisy for my liking.

I've read reviews all over the place, i know the D300 is a great camera and very well built for what i need.

I know how it alls works but i'd like to know what you guys think of the noise levels of ISO 640, 800, 1000 +?

Your help would be great.

Cheers

Steve

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    27 Feb 2011 - 9:51 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Stuart463
    Stuart463 e2 Member 6551 forum postsStuart463 vcard United Kingdom
    27 Feb 2011 - 10:28 PM

Hi Steve,

Like you had a D200 for years but eventually bit the bullet and upgraded to the D300s. Sports photography is my main interest - Cricket in summer and Mens Lacrosse in winter. Throughout the winter months Lacrosse matches face of at 2pm and none of our venues are floodlit so low light is a definite problem. I regularly use a Sigma 120-400 f4.5-5.6 APO to photograph games and therefore upping the ISO is essential. For most of the season I am using ISO between 800 - 1600 on the D300s and I am very satisfied with the results. This shot taken at ISO1600 in order to maintain a reasonable shutter speed although this time I was using a Nikon 70-300 f4.5-5.6 VR lens.