Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Nikon D3200 – suitable filter?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

pstedders
pstedders  2 United Kingdom
22 Jul 2012 - 10:34 PM

Apologies if this comes across as a stupid question:
I have decided, after many months consideration, to purchase a Nikon D3200.
This is the first DSLR that I would have bought, although I have had some experience of using them – and (obviously) am looking to take my photography a lot more seriously.
What factors do you think I should weigh up when looking for a suitable filter? and can anyone recommend a specific filter?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
22 Jul 2012 - 10:34 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

miptog
miptog  83532 forum posts United Kingdom61 Constructive Critique Points
22 Jul 2012 - 10:39 PM

Read this advice from Cambridge in Colour

pstedders
pstedders  2 United Kingdom
22 Jul 2012 - 10:43 PM

Thanks for that link. Grin

LenShepherd
LenShepherd e2 Member 62434 forum postsLenShepherd vcard United Kingdom
23 Jul 2012 - 9:19 PM

The only filter you might need at first is a circular pol.
A few suggest a front filter for protection - but these are only important in sand storms, sea spray and similar - conditions which a D3200 is not designed to work in.

andybebbs
andybebbs  6119 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
12 Nov 2012 - 8:24 AM

I would get yourself a uv filter just to protect the lens as £20 for a filter is a lot less than buying a new lens if you damage it.
Andy

LenShepherd
LenShepherd e2 Member 62434 forum postsLenShepherd vcard United Kingdom
12 Nov 2012 - 8:59 AM