Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Nikon D5100

4 Jun 2012 6:09PM
Guys,

Im hoping for a little bit of help. I am a newbie and just purchased myself a Nikon D5100 and I think I have some issues, maybe user error or maybe (I hope not) faulty camera. Let me explain.

I have left the setting on auto, everything is on auto but I am unable to take pictures. It keeps trying to focus and the screen flickers (im looking through the viewfinder not the screen). Sometimes it clicks and takes the picture and sometimes it doesnt. And even when it does sometimes the picture is blurry or dark or not in focus.

I know when the picture is in focus the green square will appear and im able to take the picture and through the viewfinder the circle in the bottom left stops blinking.

Im unsing the D5100 with a 18-55mm lens. On one of the pictures it took outside (which came out dark), the photo data was showing :- ISO 125 Auto, Focal Length 5mm, Lens 18-5. Very strange. It has done this on a few pictures.

Can someone assist and shed some light on this???

Zeus

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

4 Jun 2012 7:00PM
Hi

I suggest you reset all of the camera settings back to default mode, by turning the camera on and then holding down the "menu" and "information" buttons together for a few seconds - they are both on the back of the camera and both of them have green dots by them. This should reset all setting in the camera back to their default mode which means the camera should work OK. If that doesn't cure the problem it sounds as if you have a faulty camera, but lets hope not.

Best of luck

Bill
4 Jun 2012 7:52PM
That hasnt worked. The screen flickers a bit and wont allow me to take the picture.
EddieAC e2
10 696 2 United Kingdom
4 Jun 2012 8:11PM