Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

No-one Has Mentioned The 'S' Word

keith selmes 11 7.1k 1 United Kingdom
20 Dec 2010 10:16AM
Well ... I've never used 4WD in Plymouth before.
All we have really is a layer of frozen crunchy snow on the pavements and a lot of icy slush on the roads, good job it wasn't any colder.
I'm told the A38 and A30 are both closed, and we haven't heard from our people in Cornwall yet.
People in villages out towards Dartmoor are stuck there.
Very odd seeing palm trees decorated with snow. Doesn't quite look right.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

cattyal e2
9 6.1k 6 England
20 Dec 2010 11:19AM
The pavements are tolderable as there are grass verges which provide a bit of grip but the second I try to cross a road it's truly is like an ice-rink - I thought they were exaggerating Sad Happily I got a bus in which took 3/4 hour to do a 10 minute journey - most of it sliding sideways or getting stuck, but they've stopped now so it's going to be a long slippery walk home for me tonight - yay.....
20 Dec 2010 1:08PM
Big socks or old pullover sleeves pulled over the boots should deal with short walks on slippy stuff.
And sod what it looks like.
Everyone else is too busy falling over to bother laughing at you.

For more serious use http://www.climbers-shop.com/246638/products/Kahtoola_Microspikes.aspx
20 Dec 2010 1:10PM
There do seem to be people who aren't really in rural locations, but they can't get in anyway because the bus doesn't run.
And people who got in but plan on leaving early in case their service stops.
cattyal e2
9 6.1k 6 England
20 Dec 2010 1:50PM