Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

0

Pixmania - be careful

Forums > Digital cameras > Pixmania - be careful

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Scheduled Downtime: 19th June 2013 @ 11pm BST. Read More
Leave a Comment
    First · Prev | 1 · 2 · 3 | Next · Last
    mbharris
    30 Apr 2009 - 8:32 AM
    0

    As stated in a previous posting on a similar discussion about Pixmania, I ended up contacting the Chief Executive of the parent company "Fotovista". This did eventually bring a result.

    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    30 Apr 2009 - 8:32 AM

    Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

    daly
    9
    30 Apr 2009 - 10:30 AM
    0

    I'm not quite sure what a 'result' is though!

    I've been issued a refund, plus a £20 credit for "good faith", and thanked for my "patience and understanding".

    But the item I ordered is clearly in stock at a much higher price. If I had the cash I'd actually order it to see if they'd send it when it's paid for at the higher price.

    And yes, I only got an actual response when I emailed the "North European Supervisor" and CEO.

    jondf
    6
    2384 forum posts
    30 Apr 2009 - 4:23 PM
    0


    Quote: Think also about " After Sales " think about " Customer Service "

    Think Amazon.

    Henners88
    7 May 2009 - 11:55 AM
    0

    I wouldn't touch Pixmania with a barge pole.. I had a bad experince with them about 3 years ago and that was enough to put me off for life.. Plus a friend of mine who worked for Dixons told me that Dixons use pixmania for their Camera stock!! Dixons are quite often cheaper online than most, but there appears to be a catch. Dixons buy their stock in mainland Europe for a cheaper price which allows them to be slightly cheaper in the UK. The only problem is if your Camera develops a fault and you contact Canon UK or Nikon UK for example, you will be told that your european warranty can only be honoured through an office in Germany!! This means you incur extra postage costs, and dealing with a foreign contact. The other alternative is to deal with faults directly through Dixons, but many of us know how much trouble that can be...Sometimes cheaper is not always the best option.

    Graywolf
    8 May 2009 - 1:06 PM
    0

    My retailers of choice I think in no particular order are

    Kerso
    WE
    Morris Photographic
    Hilton Photographic

    All of whom have given me excellent service

    agoreira
    8 May 2009 - 1:18 PM
    0


    Quote: My retailers of choice I think in no particular order are

    Kerso
    WE
    Morris Photographic
    Hilton Photographic

    All of whom have given me excellent service

    Not used Hilton, but I found WE just OK, the other two, first class.

    WalidD300
    8 May 2009 - 4:22 PM
    0

    never heard of Kerso
    what is the web

    agoreira
    8 May 2009 - 5:29 PM
    0


    Quote: Never heard of Kerso
    what is the web

    He's a guy that sells kit brought in from USA. Got a good reputation, do a search here, he's been mentioned a lot before. Also has an ebay presence, and can be contacted kerso1123@msn.com

    Last Modified By agoreira at 8 May 2009 - 5:33 PM
    colin beeley
    colin beeley (e2 Member)
    10
    903 forum postscolin beeley vcard England8 Constructive Critique Points
    8 May 2009 - 5:42 PM
    0

    i don't think that kerso is that cheap any more .

    uggyy
    7
    2103 forum posts Scotland9 Constructive Critique Points
    8 May 2009 - 5:43 PM
    0

    Kerso not let me down as of yet.

    Most my old camera club buy from him and he got a good rep in general.

    I can understand him not being as cheap due to the poor pound rate..

    Last Modified By uggyy at 8 May 2009 - 5:43 PM
    louisebt
    12 May 2009 - 2:16 PM
    0

    Pixmania are a Currys/Dixons company.... I've been 'lucky' with them, we had a washing machine some time ago from them, they 'forgot' to charge us

    JackAllTog
    JackAllTog (e2 Member)
    4
    3312 forum postsJackAllTog vcard United Kingdom58 Constructive Critique Points
    29 Mar 2010 - 4:54 PM
    0

    Did a google uk search for a 550D, a set of 3 Sponsored Links came up:

    550d
    www.ebay.co.uk/photography Great deals on digital cameras Feed your passion on eBay.co.uk!

    550d: £634.00
    www.pixmania.co.uk Eos 500D + 18-55mm Lens In Stock! Buy Now

    Canon 550D from £799
    www.CalumetPhoto.co.uk/Canon550D Order the New 18MP DSLR Today - Get £50 Voucher and Free Canon Battery!

    Wow the 2nd one looked good, but clicking through to Pixmania, the deal now says £705 - they are misleading us? this is not a VAT level difference - its just a untruth as far as i can see. The offered unit is not in stock either.

    Thnaks for all the prior comments, seems like thay are a risky company to deal with anyway.

    Last Modified By JackAllTog at 29 Mar 2010 - 4:55 PM
    cambirder
    29 Mar 2010 - 4:59 PM
    0


    Quote: they are misleading us? this is not a VAT level difference - its just a untruth as far as i can see. The offered unit is not in stock either.

    Actually its Google who do the misleading, those price are often wrong.

    Phil1958
    30 Mar 2010 - 7:31 PM
    0

    I tend to stick to my local camera shop - Cambrian Photography in Colwyn Bay, they will usually match WE prices. After sales service is 2nd to none and if my gear develops a fault they're just 5 minutes down the road so no postage costs - case in question, recently bought a 2nd hand 400D from them but noticed that the card release switch was a bit wobbly, took it back expecting them to have it for a few days to put it right - wrong! had an immediate replacement body off the 2nd hand shelf. You may pay lower prices on the web but IMO, you don't get better service. Have bought from online retailers such as MPB or Ffordes but only if Cambrian haven't got what I want.

    Last Modified By Phil1958 at 30 Mar 2010 - 7:34 PM
    BigRick
    30 Mar 2010 - 9:55 PM
    0

    Pixmania is actually part of the same company that owns PC World and others too....

    But i have always bought from the place that is the cheapest.... as if it the same item online or in a shop, if it is cheaper then i get it from there.

    At the end of the day if it is a Nikon for instance, then it is Nikon that deals with the warranty if you want , not the shop.

    Posts keep being reborn latley, this one is from a year ago. Wink

    Last Modified By BigRick at 30 Mar 2010 - 9:55 PM
    First · Prev | 1 · 2 · 3 | Next · Last

    Add a Comment

    You must be a member to leave a comment

    Username:
    Password:
    Remember me:
    Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.