Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Poor quality slide show

ColinT-B e2
8 38 3 England
17 Jun 2012 8:51PM
Hello Fellow EPZ ers.
Im wondering if someone can help me out.
Im trying to create a DVD slide show.
I create the slideshow no problem, all the images in time, nice theme, background music in time to slideshow.
But when I burn to DVD the quality is poor. Its kind of ok on a laptop, but on a big screen its awful.

The software Im using is iphoto to create the slideshow, the iDVD to create the DVD.
I have to confess that Im fairly new to the Mac, only had for a couple of months, but I thought the quality would be better than this.
Do I nee to consider buying a diffent software ??

What am I doing wrong ?? Can anybody help ??

Colin

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

MeanGreeny e2
9 3.7k England
17 Jun 2012 9:18PM
What resolution are the pictures you are burning? Are they JPEG or TIF?

Does the resolution of the pictures match that of the laptop? Is that why it's OK there?

On what 'big screen' are you viewing the 'poor' DVD show? Monitor? LCD TV? Projector? What is the resolution of the 'big screen'? Are you viewing it from too close for the resolution/size of the pictures? i.e. a big picture should be viewed from further away.

What settings are you burning the DVD at? Is there a quality versus speed type decision to be made during the set up process?

We can't help you with the poor description you gave us.
ColinT-B e2
8 38 3 England
17 Jun 2012 9:46PM
Thanks for you reply.

Sorry if my description is not that clear. I dont fully understand all of the jargon you used here, but i will try and answer your questions.