Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Pricing and the future for professionals

PhotoFreak 7 22 United Kingdom
26 May 2009 8:23AM
I've been an amateur photographer for quiet some time and see myself become better and better all the time. A while ago I decided to go to university for a degree course in photography to turn my hobby in to profession. Although I don't sell pictures or offer services I do charge people who approach me. I usually took a portrait and gave one A4 and two 13x18 prints for 25 or so to make it worth my while.

Recently I've been in contact with a Photographer who offers services which range from about 200 to 500. For example, one of their offer is a 1-2 hour studio session for 200 and you get 30 6x4 prints in an album.
I've asked them how they gotten into the photography business and the reply was that it all started as a hobby and turned into a profession which they are now doing as a job. I was sent an email with loads of links. Some of them to picture profiles on Photography sites and some promoting their work on other peoples sites. So I went through those links and looked at all the images. Generally they were nice BUT most of them were just not what you would expect from a professional.

So I was thinking, you probably need to offer absolutely outstanding quality work or something unique to survive in a market that is overcrowded by professional amateur Photographers.

Any thoughts?

Hilmar

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

samfurlong 8 2.5k United Kingdom
26 May 2009 8:44AM
There are lots and lots of so called professional photographers out there whose work is quite frankly sub standard but if the client is happy then who are we to argue..