Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

RAW software

mikesmith e2
10 45 35 United Kingdom
25 Sep 2006 8:42PM
Having just purchased the new Nikon D80, I have been disappointed (as I know at least one other EPZer has too) to learn that the RAW processing software supplied is only on a 30day trial. At the end of that Nikon expect you to pay 120 for their processing software. I have CS2 and was wondering whether anyone has heard about any plug-ins that may be available for processing "NEF" images. ( I am relatively new to CS" and still somewhat of a novice!!)

I have previously used Rawshooter essentials but this does not support NEF images. Anyone out there got any idea's on what cheap software is available for processing Nikon Raw images (NEF)

Cheers

Mike

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Centurion e2
10 1.2k England
25 Sep 2006 9:07PM
Both CS2 and Rawshooter essentials support NEF files.

You may want to run an update for PS and download the latest version of Rawshooter.

Gav
bmh1 e2
8 571 1 United Kingdom
25 Sep 2006 9:14PM
dcraw lists support for the D80, (there is a link to a Windows executable on the page), but this is a command line utility.

ufraw which can be used a standalone graphics tool or a GIMP plugin doesn't list the D80, but given it is based on dcraw it is very likely to have the support added into the next release.

I found that dcraw supported the Canon 400D, but ufraw didn't (yet), but I could just transfer the bits of code I needed and recompile ufraw...

Bernard
deavilin e2
10 339 1 United Kingdom
25 Sep 2006 9:19PM
Hi Mike I have Raw Shooter Premium full version and it handles the nef file with no trouble at all, the best thing I have bought so far I love itSmile

Charlotte
mikesmith e2
10 45 35 United Kingdom
25 Sep 2006 9:19PM
Gav