Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Raw vs JPEG Is it worth the extra space and effort?

Sptsman 4 3 United States
18 Mar 2014 3:57PM
I have been shooting JPEG, fine, large for several years now and haven't really had any problems. I ran into a couple of semi-pro photographers recently at a shoot and they said that anybody that was serious about photography should be shooting RAW and using Lightroom. I bought the software and an instruction book but it seems way too technical, tedious and difficult to use and share, and the files take double the space. I just upgraded from a Nikon D300s to a D7100 and wonder if the double the megapixels, 12 vs 24, is sufficient to stay with JPEG and Photoshop rather than going to RAW and Lightroom. I rarely print larger that 11 x 14 and do not do this as a living, just a hobby. Even in RAW there are selections to be made, whether to shoot compressed RAW which says that it loses virtually nothing to "lossless" and whether to shoot 12 vs 14 bit. A realworld comparison of JPEG, large, fine vs RAW, compressed and lossless, and 12 bit vs 14 bit would be greatly appreciated. I shoot mostly wildlife and landscape with lenses from 16mm to 500mm. I have over 500,000 photos and just added 2 more 4tb external drives to support the increase to RAW but I don't think that will last very long! At some point I may want to start selling photos but just from a website not as a gallery or pro photographer. Thanks for any insight you may offer.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

TanyaH e2
11 615 58 United Kingdom
18 Mar 2014 5:01PM