Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Recommended degrees in photography?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    tracii7
    tracii7  343 forum posts Australia
    14 Feb 2011 - 8:29 AM

At present Im studying a diploma in Photography online in which id like to complete by the end of the year. Im looking at pursuing a degree - Im in Melbourne Australia- was wondering if any one can recommend a great course. there are so many advertised.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    14 Feb 2011 - 8:29 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

filmforever
    15 Feb 2011 - 3:17 PM

I don't know what the situation is in Australia, or what kind of photography you are aiming for, but speaking from the editorial point of view, diplomas have little relevance on whether or not you are able to carve out a career for yourself.
    Editors of newspapers and magazines are not interested in diplomas, only in whether you can take the kind of pictures they can use.
    In this field, understanding your market is everything.

User_Removed
    15 Feb 2011 - 3:34 PM

The cynical follow-up from Filmforever is that a degree in photography will only be of real assistance if you want to pursue a career as a lecturer in photography.

But, more seriously, have you looked at the Open College of the Arts? I have no personal experience but a few folk on here speak highly of their degree courses.

filmforever
    15 Feb 2011 - 4:30 PM

Quote:
    But, more seriously, have you looked at the Open College of the Arts?