Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Scratched my Nikon D7000 mirror

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    nazmul99
    nazmul99  5 Bangladesh
    23 Apr 2012 - 3:26 AM

Hello,
    I know this is very stupid and very foolish of me but I am a beginner. Yesterday I got some black dust type things on my Mirror, happened while changing the lens. In order to get it out i used paper to poke it out because a hair dryer didn't work (turned the heating off). While i was poking it it scratched the mirror and now through the viewfinder its very messed up (scratched). The images are completely fine, i was worried, then i used cotton buds to try to fix the scratches until i got some small particles from the cotton. Which i don't think is a big deal since i blowed the particles off.
    I am very worried. Is it possible to replace the mirror? What do I do?
    Sad

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    23 Apr 2012 - 3:26 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Umberto_Vanni
    Umberto_Vanni e2 Member 9304 forum postsUmberto_Vanni vcard Scotland
    23 Apr 2012 - 6:37 AM

I'm sure the mirror can be replaced. Contact Nikon or a good camera repairer.

User_Removed
    23 Apr 2012 - 7:06 AM

The scratch won't show up on your images if it's just on the mirror. If you can cope with the scratch, leave it. Your images will be fine.
    can I suggest in future, if you get any dust on your mirror, don't poke it or prod it with anything Wink , just wipe is slowly with a small soft lens brush or soft lens cloth.

Last Modified By User_Removed at 23 Apr 2012 - 7:07 AM
    Andy_Cundell
    23 Apr 2012 - 9:38 AM